Hindu Matters In Britain - For British Hindus

Chakra meditation and its benefits

As per our Hindu Shastra, there are 7 chakras of energy in our body which controls our psychological qualities.

Upper Body Chakras:-

There are four chakras in our upper body those are responsible for our mental state.

Lower Body Chakras:-

There are three chakras in our lower body those are responsible for our instincts.

1.    The Muladhara (root) chakra.(Red)

2.    The Svadhisthana (sacral) chakra.(Orange)

3.    The Manipura (solar plexus) chakra.(Yellow)

4.    The Anahata(heart) chakra.(Green)

5.    The Visuddhi (throat) chakra.(Blue)

6.    The Ajna (third eye) chakra (Indigo)

7.    The Sahasrara (crown) chakra.(Violet)

If your chakra is overactive or less active and is not balanced then you’ll not have peace with yourself.

So here we’ll discuss that how can we start ‘Chakra Meditation’? 

1. First, we start with Root Chakra. This chakra is related to our feelings in any situation.

If this chakra is balanced then you’ll feel sensible, stable and secure in any situation. It keeps you aware. Have you problem with trusting people around you? Then this chakra will help you with it. So how will you do it? Just follow below steps :

Ground yourself. This means you ought to connect with the ground and feel it under you. To do this, standing straight and loose, put your feet shoulder width separated, and marginally twist your knees. Move your pelvis a bit, and keep your body adjusted, with the goal that your weight is equally dispersed over the bottoms of your feet. At that point drop your weight forward. Remain in this position for a few minutes.


After few minutes sit crossed leg as shown below.

Now, let the tips of index finger and thumb touch gently as shown in the picture. Then focus on your chakra and what it stands for, at the spot in the middle of genital and rear-end.

Quietly chant the sound ‘LAM’.

Thinking about chakra, chanting a sound also visualize a closed red flower. Imagine that flower is radiating very powerful energy. Visualize that flower opens during your focused meditation.

Get the perineum holding breath and releasing it.

2. The second chakra is Sacral chakra which is related to feeling and sexuality.

When this chakra opens you can release your feelings with liberty and express it without being over emotional.

To open this chakra and balance it you can follow below steps:

Sit on your knees as shown in the picture. Keep your back straight and stay relaxed.

Put your hands on your lap and palms up. Keep your left palm under your right palm as shown in the picture your thumbs should touch gently.

Focus on your sacral chakra which is on your lower back then quietly chant the sound ‘VAM’.

Keep relaxing yourself thinking about that chakra and you’ll have ‘clean’ feeling.

3. Now let’s discuss ‘Navel Chakra’. It is related to confidence, especially when in a group.

If it is overactive you tend to be aggressive in nature.

To balance this chakra follow below steps:

Sit on your knees keeping your back straight. As shown in the picture let the fingers join at the tops, all pointing far from you and cross the thumbs.

Now focus on the Navel Chakra which is marginally over the navel. Quietly, chant the sound ‘SLAM’. Continue doing this until the point that you are totally relaxed.

4. Heart Chakra is all about love and care.

If it’s under active you tend to be cold and unfriendly. If it is overactive you tend to be so ‘loving’ for people which can suffocate them.

To balance this chakra sit crossed leg. Let the tips of your thumb and index finger touch on both hands.

Keep your left hand on your left knee and your right hand in front of the lower part of your breastbone as shown in the picture.

Now focus on this chakra and quietly chat the sound ‘YAM’. Keep on doing until you find yourself relax.

5. The fifth chakra is Throat Chakra which is related to your communication skills.

If you are having talkative nature then your chakra must be overactive and if it is under active then you must be a shy person.

To balance it follow steps below:

 The position of sitting is same here where you’ll sit on your knees but again hands position is little different where you need to cross your fingers inside of your hands and thumbs tips will touch each other at the top as shown in the picture.

Focus on throat chakra and chant the sound ‘HAM’.

Keep doing for five minutes and relax your body.

6. Let’s talk about Third Eye chakra. As the name denotes this chakra deals with insight.

If this chakra is less active then you want people to think for you and take decision for you, and if it’s overactive then you start daydreaming and a lot of imagination.

To balance Third eye chakra follow below steps :

Cross your legs and sit. 

Keep your hands and fingers position as shown in the picture.

Focus on Third eye chakra and chant the sound ‘OM’. Continue it until you find cleanliness.

7. Last but not the least, Crown chakra is the most spiritual chakra.

By balancing it you can be one with the universe. When this chakra is under active you might have rigid thoughts and if it is overactive you intellectualize things all the time. Sometime in overactive state person also ignore his or her body needs like food, water, and shelter.

To balance crown chakra sit cross-legged and place your fingers and hands as shown in the picture.

This chakra’s meditation is longest by 10 minutes and there is also warning here that if your root chakra isn’t open then you shouldn’t try this chakra meditation.

Keep in touch

Latest News